EMS Week 2023 Recognition

Jun 1, 2023

In 1974, President Ford designated the third week in May as EMS Week to honor EMS clinicians and the important work they do in our nation’s communities. National EMS Week 2023 – held May 21-27 – marks the 49th year of this special week set aside to celebrate the EMS profession and its dedicated providers. This year’s theme – Where Emergency Care Begins – aptly recognizes our agencies role in the healthcare system and also the many providers who are the absolute first medical contact many patients have with the healthcare system. While the week was full of community outreach initiatives, our team ended the week with an outing at Lock32 Brewing to celebrate several of our colleagues for their incredible accomplishments.

Providers of the Year

Nominated by their peers, we select one EMT and one paramedic to receive recognition for their dedication, responsibility, professional behavior, ingenuity, special skill(s) or insight in the EMS environment.

Chriss Grassmann

ALS Provider of the Year

Alexis Behar

BLS Provider of the Year

Lifesaving Awards

We additionally recognized a number of our staff for their lifesaving efforts during the year. These awards are given to providers whose treatment of a patient suffering from cardiac arrest resulted in the return of spontaneous circulation and later patient discharge to their home.

Hanna Mager
Dan O’Connell
Nicole Vigliotti
Gabrielle Santana
Tucker Costich
Jorge Magin
Chris Grassmann

Regional Recognition

Earlier in the week, the Monroe Livingston Regional EMS Council also recognized three members of our team at the regional level for their accomplishments in their respective areas:

Laura Cook

Excellence in EMS Quality & Safety

Awarded for her work in advocating for patients navigating their insurance coverage and the patient-billing process, often going above and beyond that which is expected of her to help patients resolve their claims.
Chief Jonathan Smith

Harriet C. Weber EMS Leadership Award

Awarded for his advocacy and contributions to the profession, fostering system-wide development and change for the betterment of our patients, providers and communities alike.
Dr. Jeremy Cushman

Physician of Excellence

Awarded for his championship of the EMS profession, empowering our EMTs and Paramedics to perform to the greatest extent of their scope of practice and holding them accountable to the highest standards of care.